Article 79 of the constitution of India provides for a bicameral legislature for the Indian Union known as Parliament. It lays down that “There shall be a parliament for the Union which shall consist of the President and the two House to be known respectively as the Council of States and the House of the people”. These two house are formally known as the Rajya Sabha (Upper House) and the Lok Sabha (Lower House) The President of India although is not a member of either house, he is an integral part of the parliament. He summons and prorogues the parliament inaugurates the session of parliament every year and may send massages to the Houses. He can issue ordinance when the parliament is not in session. He puts his signature to authenticate the bills passed by the parliament. All these functions of the President make him part and parcel of the Union Parliament.