The State Council of Ministers consists of Cabinet Ministers, of State, Deputy Ministers and Chief Minister as its head.

Chief Ministers:

According to the constitution of India there will be a council of ministers in the state to aid and advise in discharging the duties of the Governor. The Chief Minister heads the Council of Ministers.

Chief Minister is the leader of the party that commands a majority in the Legislative Assembly and is invited by the Governor to become the Chief Minister and form his cabinet.



The Chief Minister should be a member of the State Legislature. But if he is not a member of the State Legislature at the time of his appointment as the Chief Minister, the person concerned is required to get himself elected as a member of the state legislative within six months of his appointment, failing which he is removed from office. On the recommendations of the Chief Minister, the Governor appoints other ministers.


The Chief Minister is the real executive authority in the state administration. He convenes and presides over cabinet meetings and exercises general supervision and controls over all the ministers. If the Chief Minister resigns, the entire council of ministers is deemed to have resigned. He is the main link between the Governor and the state cabinet.


Term of Office

In normal case, the term of the Legislative Assembly is 5 years, so is the term of the Chief Minister. If no Qualifications for being ducted the member of Legislative confidence motion is passed against his government, he cannot was following qualifications removed from his office.

State legislature:

The State Legislature consists of the Governor and one or two houses. Some states have two houses-Lower House or Legislative Assembly and Upper House (Vidhan Parishad) Legislative Council. If the state has one house it is known as unicameral whereas the bicameral states have two houses.