Bahadur Shah (1702-1712):

After the death of Aurangzeb there was a war of succession among his three sons. In this war his eldest son Muazzam emerged victorious and ascended the throne with the title of Bahadur Shah. He was an inefficient ruler. He died in 1712 AD.

Jahandar Shah (1712-1713 AD):

After the death of Bahadur Shah, Jahandar Shah, the son of Bahadur Shah ascended the throne He reversed the policies of Aurangzeb. He died in 1713 AD.


Farrukh Siyar (1713-1719 AD):

Jahandar Shah was killed in 1713 AD by two brothers Abdullah Khan and Sayyed Husain Ali Khan known as Sayyed brothers. Farrukh Siyar was made the king. He was killed in 1719 AD.

Mohammad Shah (1719-1748):

In 1719 AD, Mohammad Shah ascended the throne. His reign saw the gradual disintegration of the empire. Many Subas (states) became independents. He died in 1748 AD.


Ahmad Shah (1748-1754 AD):

After the death of Mohammad Shah, his son Ahmad Shah ascended the throne. He was deposed and blinded by his wazir Imad-ul-Mulk.

Alamgir II (1754-1759 AD):

He had no knowledge of civic administration. He remained puppet in the hand of Imad-ul-Mulk,


Shah Alam II (1759-1806):

After the death of Alamgir II. Shah Alam II ascended the throne in 1759 AD. He fought battle of Buxar in 1764 AD against the British. In 1806 British occupied Delhi and Shah Alam II died in 1806 AD.

Akbar II (1806-1837 AD) : After the death of Shah Alan1 in 1806 AD, his son Akbar II was made king. Like his father hew also a prisoner of the Bristish and he died in 1837 AD.

Bahadur Shah II (1837-1857 AD):


After the death of Akbar II in 1837 AD, Bahadur Shah II popularly known as Bahadur Shah Zafar ascended the throne. He was the last Mughal ruler. He retained the imperial title up to 1857 AD. He led the great revolt against the British in 1857. He was imprisoned and sent to Rangoon. Where he died in 1862 AD. In 1857 AD, the Mughal rule came to an end in India.