Composition of the Union Council of Ministers:

In the Article 74 of the Constitution of India it has been said that there will be a Council of Ministers under the leadership of the Prime Minister, to assist and advise the President of performing his duties.

But the reality is that the Council of Ministers not only advises and assists the President but also exercises all the powers of the President. In India, the parliamentary form of Government has been established, therefore, the President is a Constitutional and Nominal head of the Nation.

According to Article 75 of the Constitution the President has the power to appoint that person, the Prime-Minister, who is the leader of the majority party in the Lok Sabha. The President appoints the other members of the Union Council of Ministers on the advice of the Prime Minister.


The President cannot appoint a Minister in the Council of Ministers on his own will, only that person can be appointed a Minister who is the member of the either house of the Parliament.

The Prime Minister has the power of to get any person appointed in the Council of Minister even if he is not the member of the Parliament. But that person can remain Minister for a maximum period of six months only and within 6 months either he will have to become a member of any house of the Parliament or he will have to relinquish his office.

Three Categories of Ministers

There are three categories of Ministers as follows:


1. Cabinet Ministers;

2. Ministers of State;

3. Deputy Ministers.