The leader of the majority party in the House of the People is appointed as the Prime Minister by the President. The President is the titular or Constitutional Head of the Union Executive and the Prime Minister is the real head. The Prime Minister is the chief confidential adviser to the exercises most of the powers that in theory, belong to the President.

Powers and Functions of Prime Ministers.

He (or she) is rightly known as the “President in action” for Minister

1. Formation of Council of Ministers.


2. Allocation of Portfolios among the Ministers.

3. To Preside over the Meetings of the Cabinet.

4. Appointment of the High Officials.

5. To Summon and Prorogue the Sessions of Parliament.


6. Link between the President and the Council of Ministers.

7. Principal Adviser of the President.

Term of Office: The Prime Minister holds office during the pleasure of the President. Normally, the President cannot dismiss the Prime Minister at will because the former is convention-bound to recognise the person commanding leadership of the majority party in the Lok Sabha as the Prime Minister.

The Prime Minister holds office till new Lok Sabha is elected. Even where the Lok Sabha is dissolved by the President, he can ask the Prime Minister to hold office till the new Lok Sabha is elected.