The scriptures of the Theravada sect are the Tripitaka (The three baskets) in Pali. They are Vinaya Pitaka, Sutta Pitaka and Abidhamma Pitaka. The Vinaya Pitaka deals with the ecclesiastical discipline and prescribes rules and regulations to govern the lives of the monks. It has three main divisions. (a) The Patimokha (b) the Khandhakas (c) Pari vary.

The Sutta Pitaka is the basket of discourse and doctrine and is further divided into five parts (i) Digha-nikaya (ii) Majjhima-nikaya (Hi) Samyutta- nikaya (iv) Angutra-nikaya (v) Khuddak-nikaya.

The Abidhamma Pitaka deals with psychology and ethics and only incidentally with metaphysics.