To improve conditions in India, the British appointed the Simon Commission. The Congress boycotted the Commission and asked Sir Simon to go back as the Commission had no Indian representative. The boycott was complete and largely peaceful.

The Congress session at Lahore in 1929 elected Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru as its president. The Congress decided to work for Purna Swaraj or complete independence. It was to be achieved through Satyagraha, which is associated with peace and truth. People all over the country boycotted foreign goods, did not pay taxes and launched the Civil Disobedience movement. 26th January 1930 was celebrated as the Purna Swaraj Day or Independence Day.