In December, 1929 the Congress session was held at Lahore under the President ship of Jawaharlal Nehru. The Congress declared the attainment of complete Independence as its aim and decided to launch a Civil Disobedience movement under the leadership of Gandhiji.

It was decided to celebrate 26 January as the Independence Day all over the country. The Civil Disobedience movement had involved millions of people. But when it started there were only 78 followers along with Gandhiji. It was known as the Dandi March. He broke the law by making salt.

All the important leaders including Gandhiji were arrested. By the beginning of 1931, 90000 persons were in jail and 67 papers had been banned.

At Peshawar, Indian soldiers refused to open fire on the demonstrators, when ordered to do so. In Sholapur martial law had to be imposed to suppress the mass upsurge. In Chitlagong, the revolutionaries captured the armoury. In March 1931, the Gandhi-Irwin Pact was signed.


The most significant contribution of this session at Karachi was a resolution it passed on Fundamental Rights and Economic Policy.

The Civil Disobedience movement was revived on Gandhiji’s return from the Round Table Conference in London, when the new Viceroy Lord Willington, declined to grant even an interview to Gandhiji. By April 1933, about 120,000 persons had been arrested. In May, 1934 the Civil Disobedience movement was called off.