Get Complete Information on Ancient Sites of Haryana


Two sites from the pre-Harrapan and Harrapan periods can be found at Rakhi Garhi and Agroha Mound.

Sirsa :

Sirsa district has an area of 4,277 square kilometres and its population 11,11,012. The district headquarters is situated in Sirsa town. It is located at a distance of 255 kilometres from Delhi and at a distance of 280 kilometres from Chandigarh. Other smaller towns are Dabwali, Ellenabad, Rori and Rania.


The district lies between 29CT14′ and 30° north Latitude and 74°29′ and 75°18′ east Longitude, forming the extreme west corner of Haryana. It bounded by the districts of Faridkot and Bhatinda of Punjab in the north and north-east, Ganga Nagar district of Rajasthan in the west and south and Hissar district in the east.

Sirsa district has been divided into three sub-divisions and four tehsils. There are a total of 323 villages in the district out of which, 313 are connected with paved roads. About 79 per cent of the population lives in rural areas. Sirsa gets an annual rainfall of about 26 cm. The area under cultivation is 388,000 hectares, out of which, 306,000 hectares are irrigated. The district excels in the production of cotton and citrus fruits.

The Delhi territory along with districts of Bhattiana and Hissar was transferred to Punjab in 1858 and the district of Bhattiana was renamed as Sirsa. The Sirsa district, which comprised three tehsils of Sirsa, Dabwali and Fazilka, was abolished in 1884 and Sirsa tehsil (consisting of 199 villages) and 126 villages Dabwali tehsil formed one tehsil and the same was merged in Hissar district. The rest of the portion was transferred to the Ferozepur district (Punjab). On 1 September, 1975, Sirsa and dawabali tehsils of Hissar district were constituted into a birthplace, the village Chautala, falls in the district.

The terrain of Sirsa may be classified into three types-the Haryana Plain, alluvial bed of Ghaggar or Nali and sand dune tract. The Haryana Plain is a vast surface of flat to rolling terrain and extends due south to the northern boundary of the bed of river Ghaggar. It covers over 65 per cent of the area of the district.


The elevation of the surface varies from 190 to 210 metres. The palaeo channels set the occurrence of sand dunes in this terrain apart from those in the dune tract. The plain is traversed by dune complexes and shifting sands. Alluvial bed of Ghaggar (Nali) is a clayey surface of a flat plain bordered in the north and west by the Haryana Plain and in the south along the sand dune tract.

Water-logging is a serious problem in many parts due to impervious clay of great thickness. At places, swamps support high density of tall grass. The sand dune tract is the southernmost part of the district and is the northward extension of the sand dunes of Hissar and Ganga Nagar district of Rajasthan. The height of the tibbas (sand dunes) varies from 13 to 17 metres at some places. All tibbas are broad based transverse ridges, some more than 3 km long. Linear to complex ridges, generally 2 to 5 metres high, are also present throughout the sandy stretches of the land.

Rewari :

The district headquarters is situated at Rewari. Other smaller towns are Bawal, Dharuhera and Kosli. The total area of Rewari district is 1,582 square kilometres and its population is 7,64,727.


Kaithal :

The district headquarters is situated at Kaithal. Other smaller towns are Guhla, Pundri and Cheeka. The total area of Kaithal district is 2,317 square kilometres and its population is 9,45,631.

Yamunanagar :

The district headquarters is situated in/at Yamunanagar. Other smaller towns are Jagadhari, Radaur and Sadhaura. The total area of Yamunanagar district is 1,768 square kilometres and its population is 9,82,369.



Panchkula was formed as the seventeenth district of Haryana on 15 August, 1995. It comprises two sub-divisions and two tehsils, named Panchkula and Kalka. It has 264 villages out of which, 12 villages are uninhabited and 10 villages wholly merged in towns or treated as census towns according to Census 1991. There are four towns in the district, named Kalka, Panchkula, Pinjore and H.M.T. Pinjore. The total area of the district is 898 square kilometres and the total population is 4,69,210 out of which, 2,57,380 are males and 2,11,830 are females. The male literacy in the district is 61.8 per cent whereas of female literacy is 46 per cent.

Web Analytics Made Easy -
Kata Mutiara Kata Kata Mutiara Kata Kata Lucu Kata Mutiara Makanan Sehat Resep Masakan Kata Motivasi obat perangsang wanita