In the ancient scriptures, eight types of marriages have been mentioned which are given below:

(i) Braham Vivah:

This type of marriage is held most respectable. Under this kind of marriage, the bride’s father invites the bridegroom and worships him. Thereafter both the bride and bridegroom were properly dressed and decorated and then the father used to perform the custom of Kanyadan, i.e. give away his daughter to the bridegroom.

(ii) Daiva Vivaba:


Under this form, the bride’s father used to arrange yajna and the person who performed yajna was given the daughter as his wife which was symbolic of donation.

(iii) Arsh Vivaha:

In this type the bride’s father used to have a pair of ox and a cow in return of his daughter from the bridegroom for religious purposes.

(iv) Prajapatya Vivaha:


Here the bride’s father systematically worships the bridegroom and performs the ceremony of Kanyadan. Thereafter he blesses them a happy worldly life.

(v) Asura Vivaha:

Here the bride’s father takes dowry from the bridegroom’s father and then gives his daughter.

(vi) Gandharva Vivalia:


Here the boy and girl indulge in sex neglecting their parents.

(vii) Raksas Vivaha:

Here the bride’s parents were attacked and the bride was kidnapped. Against the bride’s wishes the marriage was performed.

(viii) Paisach Vivaha:


According to the Manusmriti, to have sex with a woman who is helpless, sleeping or drink is called paisach vivaha.