What are the Different Divisions of the Interior of the Earth?


As a whole, on the basis of seismic investigations, the earth’s interior has been broadly divided into three major parts:

1. The Crust

2. The Mantle


3. The Core

(a) the crust, mantle and core are separated by two sharp breaks, usually known as major discontinuities;

(b) the crust is having an average thickness of about 33 kms;

(c) the crust is composed of heterogeenous materials;


(d) the second major segment of the earth, i.e the mantle extends from below the crust to a depth of 2900 kms;

(e) the third major segment of the earth i.e. the core extends from below the mantle upto the centre of the earth;

Web Analytics Made Easy -
Kata Mutiara Kata Kata Mutiara Kata Kata Lucu Kata Mutiara Makanan Sehat Resep Masakan Kata Motivasi obat perangsang wanita