Major Physical Divisions of India

(1) The Himalayan Mountains:

(i) Three parallel ranges:

(a) Himadri


(b) Himachal or Lesser Himalayas

(c) Shiwaliks

(ii) Divisions demarcated by River Valleys:

(a) Punjab Himalayas


(b) Kumaon Himalayas

(c) Nepal Himalayas

(d) Assam Himalayas

(2) The Northern Plains: Indus, Ganga and Brahmaputra plains.


(3) The Peninsular Plateau:

(a) Central Highlands

(b) Deccan Plateau

(4) The Indian Desert


(5) The coastal plains

(a) Western coastal plain.

(b) Eastern coastal plain.

(6) The Island groups:


(a) Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

(b) Lakshadweep.

Main Mountain and Hill Ranges:

(i) In the Himalayas-Karakoram, Western Himalayas, Eastern Himalayas, Purvanchal.


(ii) In the Peninsular Plateau-Vindhyachal, Satpura, Mahadeo, Western Ghats and Eastern Ghats, Nilgiri Hills, Cardamom Hills.

Major Rivers:

(i) Flowing into the Bay of Bengal

(a) Ganga-Brahmaputra river system and their tributaries.

(b) Peninsular Rivers: Mahanadi, Godavari, Krishna and Kaveri.

(ii) Flowing into the Arabian Sea

(а) Indus river system with tributaries

(b) Narmada and Tapi rivers.