Gautam Buddha was the founder of Buddhism. He was born in 563 BC at Lumbini. He was very disheartened at the sorrow state of the people. He wanted to be free from all kinds of sorrow.

So he left the house at the age of thirty in search of truth. He attained Nirvana (enlightment) at Bodh Gaya and preached his religion by wandering from place to place.

Buddha’s teachings were based on the four noble truths, i.e. sufferings, causes of sufferings, the desire and the way to overcome desire and ignorance through the eight fold path or the Ashtangika marga. Buddha died in 483 BC at Kushinagar near Gorakhpur.

(i) First Buddhist council:


First Buddhist Council was held at Rajendra under the Presidentship of Mahakashyap Upali during the reign of Ajatshatru in 483 BC.

(ii) Second Buddhist Council:

Second Buddhist Council was held under the president ship of sabakami during the reign of kalashoka in 383 BC.

(iii) Third Buddhist Council:


The third Buddhist Council was held at Patliputra under the presidentship of Tissa Mugaliputra during the reign of Ashoka in 255 BC.

(iv) Fourth and the last Buddhist Council:

It was held at Kundaiavan in Kashmir under the royal patronage of KanishkaJ Vasumitra was its president and it was held in first century AD.