The word ‘independence’ in the ‘Indian Independence Act’ emphasized freedom from the control of the British Parliament and the Crown.

However, virtually the provisions of the Mountbatten Plan were incorporated in the Indian Independence Act, 1947.

According to the provision of the Act two Dominions-India and Pakistan were to emerge an independent countries from the date 15 August, 1947.

The suzerainty of the British Crown on these two Dominions were to lapse on and from that date. The Indian Independence Act further provided that pending the adoption of a new Constitution both India and Pakistan were to be governed by the Constituent Assembly of the respective countries.


In short, the Indian Independence Act had transformed India from a dependency of the Crown to an independent Dominion within the British Commonwealth of Nations.