The nine tattvas show how to attain ‘salvation. One can progress towards liberation only after knowing these Tattvas. Moreover the Karma theory is intertwined with these Tattvas.

The nine Tattvas are:

1. Jiva – Souls and living things

2. Ajiva – Non-living things


3. Punya – Good Karma

4. Paap – Bad Karma

5. Asrava – Influx of Karma

6. Bandha – the bondage of Karma


7. Sam vara – the stoppage of influx of Karma

8. Nirjara – Shedding of Karma

9. Moksha – Liberation or Salvation.