The Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions was set up in its present form in 1985. Prior to this date, it existed under the name of the Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms. The Department of Personnel took over the functions of the Services Wing of the Ministry of Home Affairs and was first established in August 1970.

The Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions is the nodal agency in the field of public personnel and administrative reform in India.

The Ministry formulates policies relating to recruitment, training, promotion, employer-employee relations, service conditions, etc., in the civil service. Staff welfare, discipline and morale in the civil service and integrity in administration form part of its portfolio. It manages the all-India Services and certain other Central Services and formulates training policies and programmes in the field of public administration in India.

The Ministry of Personnel deals with all administrative matters relating to the Union Public Service Commission, Central Vigilance Commission, Staff Selection Commission, Central Bureau of Investigation, Administrative Tribunals and the Indian Institute of Public Administration. The LBS National Academy of Administration (Mussoorie) and the Institute of Secretariat Training and Management, New Delhi are also managed by the Ministry of Personnel.


The Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions comprises three departments namely (i) Department of Personnel & Training (ii) Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances (AR & PG). (iii) Department set mentioned.

The three departments function under the Secretary (Personnel), who is assisted by three Additional Secretaries, other officers and staff. The Department of Personnel & Training and the Department of Pension and Pensioners’ Welfare have a common administration, while the Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances (AP & PG) has a separate administration.

Department of personnel & training

The Department is responsible for formulation of policies relating to service matters. It is the cadre controlling authority of the Indian Administrative Service and Central Secretariat Services. The Department has two training Institutes, namely, Lai Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration (LBSNAA) Institute of Secretariat Training and Management (ISTM), besides there are two designated recruitment agencies namely.


Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) and Staff Selection Commission (SSC). While UPSC is a constitutional body, Staff Selection Commission has the status of an attached office of the department and was constituted under Government of India Resolution in 1975. Other organisations under the department are Public Enterprises Selection Board, Central Bureau of Investigation and Central Administrative Tribunal.