Some of the Main Parts of the Internal Structure of Genus Sargassum are as follows:

To study the internal structure of main axis one has to cut the transverse sections of the axis.

The axis is differentiated into three parts (1) epidermis or meristoderm, (2) cortex and (3) conducting tissue or medulla.

(1) Epidermis or meristoderm:

This is the outermost layer consisting of thin-walled parenchymatous cells with or without a thin cuticle. This layer is meristematic in nature and, therefore, called the meristoderm. The cells are photosynthetic containing chromatophores and fucosan vesicles in them.

(2) Cortex:


The cortex is sufficiently broad and consists of thin-walled parenchymatous cells. The cells just beneath the epidermis are photosynthetic and contain numerous chromatophores in them, whereas the cortical cells of the inner region are supposed to be the storage tissue.

(3) Conducting tissue or medulla:

The central region of the axis consists of thick-walled cells and known as medulla. These serve the purpose of the conduction of the food.