Capital: Kabul

Area: 647,497 sq. km.

Currency: Afghani.

Geographical Boundaries: Afghanistan is bounded in the north by Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan, east by China, east and south by Pakistan and west by Iran.


Climate: Arid

Population Groups: The main group is the Pathans. Other groups include Tajiks, Hazaras, Turkmens and Uzbeks.

Religion: The predominant religion is Islam.

Language: Pakhto (Pushtu), Dari, Persian.