Brief Notes on the Organization Structure of SAARC?



The SAARC comprises five leayers of organizational structure:

1. Council: At the top, there is the Council represented by the heads of the government of the member countries. The council the apex policy making body. It meets once in 2 years time.

2. Council of Minister: It is to assist the council. It is represented by the foreign ministe of the member countries. Its functions include:

  1. Formulation of policies
  2. Review of functioning
  3. Deciding new areas of cooperation
  4. Chalk our additional mechanism
  5. Decide about general issues of common of interest of the SAARC member.

3. Standing Committee: It is comprised by the foreign secretarian of the member government. Its major functions are:

  1. To monitor and co-ordinate the programmes
  2. To determine inter-sectored priorities
  3. To mobilise cooperation within and outside the region
  4. To deal with the modalities of financing.

4. Programming Committee: It consist of the senior official of the member governments. Its functions include:

  1. Scrutinizing the budget of the secretarials
  2. Finalizing the annual schedule
  3. External activities assigned by the standing committee
  4. Analyses the respects of the technical committee.

5. Technical Committee: It consist of the represented of the member nations. Its function are:

  1. To formulate project and programmer
  2. To monitor and execute the projects
  3. To submit reports.

The Technical Committee convers the areas such as: Aqriculture, Communication, Environment, Rural Development, Health and Population, Science and Technology, Tourism and Transport.

6. Secretarial: The SAARC secretarials is located in Nepal. Its fuction include:

1. Coordination, execution and monetaring of SAARC activities

2. Servicing the SAARC meetings

3. Work as communication link between the SAARC and other international forume.

The secretarials is headed by the secretary-General appointed by the Council of Ministers. These are 7 Director (One from each member nation) and the general service staff.